Religious freedom and the rights of the individual - charter of good conduct

In subscribing to the present Charter, the signatories wish to communicate their willingness to contribute to respectful coexistence with freedom for all and with the right to moral integ-rity for all. They commit themselves to correct all abuse that would objectively harm the rights of the individual. They wish to develop trust amongst social actors within the frame-work of their institutions and the laws of a State guaranteeing equality of treatment for all its people.
September 1997

[ printable version  ]

Article 1.

Religious freedom is a necessary condition of democratic life. Modern rights, both na-tional and international, elevated it to the rank of a fundamental freedom (ref).
art. 49 and 50 of Federal Constitution
art. 303 of Civilian code
art. 9 European Convention of Human Rights
rt. 18 Pact II, Declaration of the United Nations on the elimination of all forms of intolerance and discrimination based on religion
Human Rights declaration of the United Nations of 1948
International Charter on the Rights of Children
art. 164 of the Constitution of Geneva which in fact only guarantees freedom of worship
 
hide this note

Freedom of conscience and religion is essential to any true personal or collective spiritual endeavor. Any religious group - old or new, major or minor, institutional or otherwise - has a right to this freedom as well as a duty to respect it.

Article 2.

Freedom of conscience and religion gives everyone the right to believe, not believe or to change faith, as well as the right to express, practise and reveal one's personal convic-tions. It guarantees everyone the right to orient one's conduct and way of acting accord-ing to the teachings and prescriptions of one's religious conviction, that is: "any form of representation linked to the relationship that humans have with the divine, respectively the transcendental" (ref)
Federal Tribunal Decree 119 Ia 178,183A
 
hide this note
. Expressed collectively, this freedom includes the right to assemble and to organize as an association, according to the rights of the country.

Article 3.

Individual freedom has its limits in the freedom of others, thus a religiously polyvalent society must guarantee religious peace. It is the responsibility of public powers, civil so-ciety, traditional religious communities as well as those more recently created to find a modus vivendi that will permit justice and set aside discrimination.

Article 4.

The facilitation of such a coexistence shall be provided by the institutions of the secular state, which refraining from all forms of segregation on religious matters, should guaran-tee equity in the treatment of all those belonging to a religious community, as well as those not belonging to any religious community. The religious neutrality of the State of-fers believers, whoever they be, the possibility to practise their faith within society re-specting good morality and public order.

Article 5.

Belonging to a religious group gives direction to human existence and may help it flour-ish, yet it can lead to abuses and perversions that may harm human dignity. For these reasons the present "Charter of Good Conduct" can be applied to individual, collective, social and inter-religious relationships.

Article 6.

Any individual can freely join or leave the religious group of his/her choice. None shall endure damage to personality particularly discrimination in matters of employment by reason of religious faith. None shall be harassed for their convictions but shall be respon-sible for words and acts in relation to the system of laws. Public powers shall refrain from any meddling in the spiritual choices of a person. On the other hand, religious leaders should ensure the freedom of all new members and refrain from intimidation of those who wish to leave their community, particularly minors and vulnerable persons.

Article 7.

Any faith or religious group has the right to collectively express its beliefs through wor-ship and private or public activities within the limits of public order and the respect of the common good. Any religious creed can freely disseminate its vision of the world without having to endure discriminatory measures against itself or its followers. Without excluding the debate of ideas, all propaganda aiming at the denigration of other expres-sions of faith or agnosticism is firmly proscribed.

Article 8.

In the spirit of tolerance, society welcomes religious diversity. Each religious community, ancient or modern has the right to have its ideas and its actions honestly presented and protected from abusive comparison and defamation. If a group is challenged it will agree to provide enlightenment concerning its religious, social or financial activities; in return, challengers will concentrate upon the incriminating facts and refrain from all abusive generalizations or insidious allusions.

Article 9.

Interreligious dialogue is apt to remove the fears and suspicions that may exist between long established communities and newly created ones. Conducted with respect for the convictions of others and with loyalty towards one's own convictions, such a dialogue does not exclude mutual critique; it opens the way to a peaceful coexistence determined by the rules of a game freely accepted and offers a favorable setting to find solutions to the tensions inherent in religious diversity.

Article 10.

A panel of observers of religious phenomena in which representatives of public powers, religious movements as well as scholars could participate, could be placed under the pro-tection of the State and provide a place likely to prevent hasty judgments as well as shed-ding light in the event of persisting tensions or accusations of mental manipulations, sexual abuse or financial pressures.
In the same way, an ombudsman trusted by the various parties would contribute by pro-viding mediation to resolve litigation cases.

[ back to top ]

 

 

copyright © 2018 par le CLIMS. Reproduction autorisée en citant la source (site clims.ch)

CLIMS • Centre de Liaison et d'Information concernant les Mouvements Spirituels • Derrière la Roche 49 • CH-1637 Charmey

Liberté religieuse et droits de la personne
charte de bonne conduite

En souscrivant à la présente charte, les signataires marquent leur volonté de contribuer à une coexistence respectueuse de la liberté de tous et du droit à l'intégrité morale de chacun. Ils s'engagent à corriger toute dérive portant objectivement atteinte aux droits de la personne. Ils aspirent à développer la confiance entre les acteurs sociaux dans le cadre des institutions et des lois d'un État garantissant l'égalité de traitement de tous ses administrés.
10 septembre 1997

[ cliquez ici pour une version imprimable ]

Article 1.

La liberté religieuse est une condition nécessaire à la vie démocratique. Le droit moderne - tant national qu'international - l'a érigée au rang de liberté fondamentale (réf).
Constitution fédérale : art. 49 et 50,
Code Civil Suisse : art 303,
Convention européenne des droits de l’homme : art. 9,
Pacte II, Déclaration des Nations Unies sur l’élimination de toutes formes d’intolérance et de discrimination basées sur la religion :  art. 18,
Déclaration universelle des Droits de l’homme des Nations Unies de 1948,
Charte internationale des Droits de l’Enfant.
 
masquer cette note

La liberté de conscience et de religion est essentielle à toute démarche spirituelle véritable tant personnelle que communautaire. Tout groupement religieux - ancien ou nouveau, majoritaire ou minoritaire, institutionnel ou alternatif - a droit à cette liberté autant qu'il a le devoir de la respecter.

Article 2.

La liberté de conscience et de religion donne à chacun le droit de croire, de ne pas croire et de changer de croyance, ainsi que celui d'exprimer, de pratiquer et de divulguer ses convictions personnelles. Elle assure à chaque personne le droit d'orienter son comportement et d'agir en fonction des enseignements et des prescriptions correspondant à sa conviction religieuse au sens large, soit "toute forme de représentation relative aux relations que l'homme entretient avec le divin, respectivement le
Arrêt du Tribunal Fédéral 119 Ia 178, 183 A
 
masquer cette note
transcendant" (réf). Exprimée collectivement, cette liberté comprend le droit de se réunir et de s'organiser en association selon la loi du pays.

Article 3.

La liberté de chacun trouvant ses limites dans la liberté d'autrui, une société pluraliste au plan religieux se doit de garantir la paix confessionnelle. Trouver le modus vivendi qui permette la justice et écarte les discriminations est une responsabilité majeure des acteurs sociaux en présence: les pouvoirs publics, la société civile, les communautés religieuses appartenant au patrimoine culturel, les traditions religieuses d'implantation récente, les nouveaux mouvements religieux.

Article 4.

Le cadre de la coexistence recherchée est fourni par les institutions d'un État laïc qui s'abstient de toute forme de contrainte en matière religieuse et garantit l'égalité de traitement de tous ses administrés, appartenant ou non à une communauté religieuse. La neutralité confessionnelle de l'État offre au croyant quel qu'il soit la possibilité de vivre sa foi à l'intérieur du champ social dans le respect des bonnes mœurs et de l'ordre public.

Article 5.

Propre à donner un sens à l'existence humaine et à l'épanouir, l'adhésion religieuse a aussi été, et peut encore être, l'occasion d'abus et de perversions portant atteinte à la dignité humaine. Pour ces motifs, la présente "charte de bonne conduite" a vocation de s'appliquer - dans le domaine du religieux - aux rapports individuels, communautaires, sociaux et interreligieux.

Article 6.

Tout individu peut librement adhérer ou quitter le groupe religieux de son choix. Nul ne doit subir d'atteintes à sa personnalité, notamment de discrimination en matière d'emploi ou autres, en raison de son appartenance religieuse. Nul ne doit être inquiété pour ses convictions mais répond de ses paroles et de ses actes en regard de la loi. Les pouvoirs publics, d'une part, s'abstiennent de toute ingérence dans les choix spirituels d'une personne, les responsables religieux, d'autre part, s'assurent de la liberté du nouveau membre et s'abstiennent de toute intimidation à l'égard de celui qui désire quitter sa communauté. Une attention particulière est due à la liberté de choix des mineurs et des personnes fragilisées.

Article 7.

Toute confession ou groupe religieux a le droit d'exprimer collectivement sa croyance par le culte ou d'autres manifestions publiques ou privées, dans les limites de l'ordre public et le respect des bonnes mœurs. Tout courant religieux peut diffuser librement sa vision du monde sans avoir à subir de mesure discriminatoire contre lui-même ou contre ses adhérents. Sans exclure le débat d'idées, toute propagande visant à dénigrer d'autres expressions de foi ou d'agnosticisme est délibérément proscrite.

Article 8.

Dans un esprit de tolérance, la société accueille en son sein la diversité et la pluralité religieuse. Chaque communauté religieuse, ancienne ou nouvelle a le droit de voir ses idées et ses actions honnêtement présentées, à l'abri de tout amalgame et de toute diffamation. En cas de mise en cause d'un groupe, celui-ci accepte de faire la lumière sur ses activités religieuses aussi bien que sociales et financières; en retour, les différents acteurs sociaux se limitent aux faits incriminés en se gardant de toute généralisation abusive ou allusion insidieuse.

Article 9.

La voie d'un dialogue interreligieux est propre à faire tomber les craintes et les suspicions entre les différentes communautés établies de longue date ou nouvelles venues sur la scène religieuse. Mené dans le respect des convictions d'autrui et la loyauté vis-à-vis de ses propres convictions, un tel dialogue n'exclut pas la critique mutuelle; il ouvre la voie à une coexistence pacifique déterminée par des règles du jeu librement acceptées et offre un cadre favorable à la recherche de solutions aux tensions inhérentes à la diversité religieuse.

Article 10.

Un observatoire des
Dans la ligne des recommandations des auteurs du rapport : Audit sur les dérives sectaires, commandé par le Département de justice, police et des transports du Canton de Genève, février 1997
 
masquer cette note
phénomènes religieux (réf) auquel participeraient des représentants des pouvoirs publics, des mouvements religieux ainsi que des universitaires et qui serait placé sous l'égide de l'État offrirait un lieu susceptible tant de prévenir les jugements hâtifs que de faire la lumière en cas de tensions persistantes ou d'accusations de "dérives sectaires" (manipulation mentale, abus sexuels ou autres, pressions financières).
Dans le même sens, un ombudsman jouissant de la confiance des différentes parties contribuerait par sa médiation à résoudre des cas litigieux particuliers.

[ cliquez ici pour revenir au haut de la page ]

 

 

copyright © 2017 par le CLIMS. Reproduction autorisée en citant la source (site clims.ch)

CLIMS • Centre de Liaison et d'Information concernant les Mouvements Spirituels • Derrière la Roche 49 • CH-1637 Charmey